The nerves of the lower limb are originated from the ventral (anterior primary) rami of the lumbar and sacral nerves creating the lumbar plexus (L1 L4) in the posterior abdominal wall and the sacral plexus (L4 S4) in the pelvis.

The primary nerves of the lower limb are as follows:

  • Femoral nerve.
  • Obturator nerve.
  • Sciatic nerve.
  • Tibial nerve.
  • Common peroneal nerve.
  • Superficial peroneal nerve.
  • Deep peroneal nerve.

The last 4 nerves are in fact direct or indirect branches of the sciatic nerve.

The study of these nerves is essential due to their regular engagement in different injuries and peripheral neuropathies.